What Does The IPL Journey Of RCB Look Like?

What Does The IPL Journey Of RCB Look Like?

Royal Challengers Bangalore is called RCB, a franchise cricket team based in Bangalore that plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). It was bought in 2008 by United Spirits and named after its liquor brand, the “Royal Challenge.” Since then, the team has played its home matches at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Unfortunately, the Royal Challengers have never won the IPL. But they have finished second three times from 2009 to 2016. However, despite various notable players, the team has always lost.

Winning background of RCB:

In the IPL, RCB has reached three finals. They won against the Deccan Chargers in 2009, the Chennai Super Kings in 2011, and the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2016. However, they have lost almost every match, even after having great players in the world. The Virat Kohli-led RCB failed to create an impression in the IPL 2019, finishing at the bottom of the points table. Bangalore owns the IPL records for the biggest and lowest totals, 263/5 and 49 all-out, respectively.

Top RCB Players:

  1. Virat Kohli: Ex- Captain, India
  2. Yuzvendra Chahal: Leg spinner, India
  3. AB De Villiers: Right-hand batsman, South Africa
  4. Shimron Hetmyer: Batsman, West Indies
  5. Tim Southee: Bowler, New Zealand

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s luck changed last season when the headline event was moved out of India because of the Covid-19 epidemic. After four years, RCB put up a terrific display in the league and became a favourite of fantasy cricket players. Due to their phenomenal individual performance, the players are well loved but the team as a whole has not been able to perform well. However, such an incredible journey ended in the eliminator because they could not defeat Sunrisers Hyderabad.

A brief history of RCB:

  • In 2008, Rahul Dravid was made captain of the IPL for the first time.

RCB comes in seventh place at the bottom of the standings.

  • The English captain, Kevin Pietersen, took over as the RCB in 2009. RCB comes within a whisker of winning the championship but falls short.
  • In the third season, Anil Kumble takes over as captain. RCB had another fantastic tournament in 2010, but they finished third.
  • Personnel changes at the biggest auction in 2011. They kept only one player, Virat Kohli, and put the others up for auction.
  • Significant acquisitions include AB de Villiers, Dilshan, and Zaheer Khan.

Later, Chris Gayle came in to replace 2012 injured Dirk Nannes.

  • Daniel Vettori has been chosen captain. RCB was the runner-up in 2013.
  • Albie Morkel, Mitchell Starc, Ravi Rampaul, Parthiv Patel, Ashok Dinda, Muttiah Muralitharan, Nic Maddinson, Harshal Patel, Varun Aaron, Vijay Zol, and Yuvraj Singh were all acquired by the squad in 2014. RCB finished eighth in the seventh IPL season.
  • After performing so brilliantly in the previous season, RCB settled for third place in the IPL 2015.
  • For RCB, the 2016 edition was possibly the most painful. Virat Kohli, the captain of the RCB, is having a wonderful IPL season, having scored four hundred so far. However, the RCB team and fans were disappointed as they were runners-up.
  • RCB finishes last, in eighth place in the year 2017
  • Another poor season for RCB in 2018, as they finished sixth. But the fan base never disappointed them. Fantasy cricket is an online platform where a virtual team of actual cricket players is created and points are scored according to how they perform during real matches. RCB has a lot of terrific players that have proven themselves over the years and become favourites of fantasy cricket
  • RCB concluded the 2019 season in the eighth position, at the bottom of the standings.
  • Because of finishing fourth in the league stage, RCB qualified for the Playoffs. In 2020, however, they were eliminated in the Eliminator Round by Sunrisers Hyderabad.
  • The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have signed seasoned players in fantasy cricket and physical match Glenn Maxwell, Dan Christian, and the youthful Kyle Jamieson from New Zealand to their IPL 2021.